Rochester Amateur Radio Association, Inc.
RaRa Logo
Since 1931
Rochester Hamfest

 
 
 

 

Helpful Links

Quick Operating Reference

ARRL Band Plan:

Color Chart (as of 9/22/2017) (PDF shows allocated frequencies and privileges)

The Considerate Operator’s Frequency Guide (PDF)

ARRL Band Plan (site link)

Local Information:

Rochester NY Area Repeater Listing  (PDF)     (CSV for CHIRP)      (revised 12/08/2020 and 05/14/2020)

Repeater listing compiled by Dave Timmons (W2DST) from data supplied by Jim Stefano (W2COP), 1st Vice-President of the Upper New York Repeater Council (UNYREPCO), Western New York - Southern Ontario Repeater Council (WNYSORC), the ARRL 2014-2015 Repeater Directory, and local users of the repeaters.

Local Area Nets

There are many local nets in and around the Rochester, NY area.  The nets are always looking for new check-ins so give it a try. See our Operating Page for a local nets.

Digital Radio

DMR

What is BrandMeister Brandmeister Wiki
BrandMeister Main Page brandmeister.network
BM Talk Groups (as of 2021-02-19) PDF   CSV
BrandMeister New York Amateur Repeater Network wiki.radioreference.com 

Internet Radio

Internet radio is a great way for new hams to reach other states and countries beyond the local 2M VHF range.  It is also handy to use when the HF bands are not cooperating.  All you need is a Technician license to use some of the programs noted below. 

EchoLink www.echolink.org
eQSO www.eqso.org
HamSphere www.hamsphere.com
InterACE www.g4xgt.co.uk/interace-sstv.htm
Internet Radio Linking Project (IRLP) www.irlp.net
KiwiSDR sdr.hu/?top=kiwi
QsoNet www.qsonet.com

Call Sign Lookup

FCC wireless.fcc.gov/uls/index.htm?job=home
HamQTH www.hamqth.com
QRZ www.qrz.com
QRZCQ qrzcq.com
WM7D www.wm7d.net

Vanity Call Signs [ add others]

If you get tired of your current call sign and feel the need to change then the two web sites below are good places to start.

Information on Vanity Call Signs www.arrl.org/vanity-call-signs

License & Certificate Printing

AE7Q License Generator www.ae7q.com/misc/Generate.php
Radio QTH License Certificate Creator www.radioqth.net/certificate.aspx

QSL Cards

Making the contact is half the fun.  The other half is confirming the contact.  Confirmations can be done by exchanging QSL cards via the mail or electronically via the web at "Logbook of the World" or "eQSL".

ARRL Incoming QSL Service www.arrl.org/incoming-qsl-service
ARRL Outgoing QSL Service www.arrl.org/outgoing-qsl-service
eQSL www.eqsl.cc
Logbook of the World www.arrl.org/logbook-of-the-world

Ham Radio Podcasts

Here are some educational and entertaining ham radio related podcasts available on the internet. 

AmateurLogic.TV  (Video) www.amateurlogic.tv
Amateur Radio Newsline www.arnewsline.org
ARRL Audio News www.arrl.org/arrl-audio-news
HamNation  (Video) twit.tv/hn
Ham Radio Now  (Video) arvideonews.com/hrn/
HQA Radio  (Video) www.hqaradio.com
ICQ Podcast www.icqpodcast.com
K7AGE You Tube  (Video) www.youtube.com/user/K7AGE
Linux in the Ham Shack lhspodcast.info
QSO www.tedrandall.com
Radio Amateur Information Network www.therainreport.com
Soldersmoke soldersmoke.com
The Practical Amateur Radio Podcast myamateurradio.com

Ham Radio Vendors

This is a small list of ham radio equipment vendors from across the country.  This is not an endorsement for any particular vendor; just an example of what's to be found by Googling "Ham Radio Supplies". 

DX Engineering Ham Radio Gear www.dxengineering.com
Five Dash Inc. Kits — SDR www.fivedash.com
Four State QRP Group Kits — QRP www.wa0itp.com/4sqrpkitindex.html
GigaParts Range of Gear and DIY www.gigaparts.com
Ham City Ham Radio Gear www.hamcity.com
Ham Radio Outlet Ham Radio Gear www.hamradio.com
HobbyPCB Kits — HF, VHF, Arduino www.hobbypcb.com
KJI Electronics Ham Radio Gear www.kjielectronics.com
MFJ Enterprises Antenna, Support Equipment www.mfjenterprises.com
Pacific Antenna Kits www.qrpkits.com
QRP Labs Lits www.qrp-labs.com
QRPme Kits — QRP www.qrpme.com
R&L Electronics Ham Radio Gear www.randl.com
Radio City Ham Radio Gear www.radioinc.com
Texas Towers Antennas www.texastowers.com
The Ham Station New and Used Gear www.hamstation.com
Universal Radio New and Used Gear www.universal-radio.com

Radio Control & Logging Software

Software is available that can be connected to many of the newer HF radios. The software can control the functions of the radio and also log your contacts while automatically recording the frequency, time, and mode.

CommCat www.commcat.com
DXLab www.dxlabsuite.com
FLdigi www.w1hkj.com
Ham Radio Deluxe www.hrdsoftwarellc.com
Logger32 www.logger32.net
TRX-Manager www.trx-manager.com

Logbook Uploading

There are a number of websites where you can upload your logbook. LoTW and eQSL offer awards for confirmed contacts. Other sites are a way to share your logbook with others.

Club Log www.clublog.org
CQ Friends www.cqfriends.com
eQSL www.eqsl.cc
Hamlog.eu www.hamlog.eu
HamQTH www.hamqth.com
HRDLog.net www.hrdlog.net
Logbook of the World www.arrl.org/logbook-of-the-world
QRZ www.qrz.com
QRZCQ qrzcq.com

Last revised: 03/13/21 10:56 AM


The Rochester Amateur Radio Association, Inc. is a 501(c)3 Educational Corporation
Information Contact: webmaster@rochesterham.org