Rochester Amateur Radio Association, Inc.
RaRa Logo
Since 1931
Rochester Hamfest

 
 
 

 

Ham Radio 101 — RaRa Can Help

Or: ‘Getting started in Ham Radio’

 

Video: "Ham Radio - Ancestor of the Internet"

Ham Radio - Ancestors of the Internet from Mark Svoboda on Vimeo.

LICENSE CLASS PRIVILEGES COMMENT
Technician VHF and UHF bands
(CW operations on some HF bands)
Entry-level class — Requires passing a written exam with 35 questions.
General HF, VHF and UHF bands
(limits on certain bands)
 
Amateur Extra All Bands, All Modes top

Elmers

Someone who provides personal guidance and assistance to would-be hams:

Name Call Sign Area Phone e-Mail Rigs Specialties
Tim Brown WB2PAY Ogden 585-750-2087 tjbrown@rochester.rr.com Yaesu, Kenwood Antenna Building, CW
Dave Carlson N2OA Batavia 585-704-4169 kdcarlso@gmail.com Icom, Yaesu, Kenwood,Alinco, HF, Mobile, HT DSTAR, Fusion, FlDigi, WSJT-X
Lawrence Hill N2AJX Henrietta 585-334-8185 lawrence.hill@rit.edu Heathkit, Kenwod, Alinco, Homebrew Hombrewing, vintage ham radio, microprocessor hardware, interfacing and programming, stealth antennas
Bill Kasperkoski WB2SXY Pittsford 585-381-6553 wb2sxy@arrl.net Icom CW, Theory, Dxing
Don Kiser AC2EV N Greece 585-613-1035 dkiser100@gmail.com Elecraft K3 Arduino programming
Karl Heinz Kremer K5KHK Chili 585-563-9641 k5khk@khk.net   Hombrewing, Arduino, Raspberry Pi, Linux
Tim Magee WB2KAO Greece 585-704-5747 timwb2kao@aol.com Kenwood ECHO Link , CW
Peter Schuch WB2UAQ Perinton 585-421-2829 pschuch@rochester.rr.com Icom RF Testing
Forest Shick WA2MZG Webster 585-721-1653 fshick3@gmaial.com Elecraft KX3, Flex1500 Homebrewing, microcontrollers
Dave Timmons W2DST N Greece 585-392-6729 dstimmons@gmail.com Yaesu  
Dan Waterstraat W2DEW Henrietta 585-629-8311 higreen@rochester.rr.com Elecraft, Yaesu Antennas, RFI, Homebrew, Station Layout, Antique Radio Restoration

Last revised: 06/20/18 10:47 PM


The Rochester Amateur Radio Association, Inc. is a 501(c)3 Educational Corporation
Information Contact: webmaster@rochesterham.org